Daddy

Behold what manner of love the Father has bestowed on us, that we should be called children of God!  1 John 3:1 (NLT)

I saw something precious yesterday that I wanted to share with you.  I was walking at a different time than usual when I came upon this beautiful scene.  I curved around on the road and there was this tiny, dark-headed boy obviously waiting for the school bus.  He was standing by himself near a stop sign.  He was so little that his backpack was nearly bigger than him.  As I was coming around a curve behind him, he did not know of my existence until I was almost right alongside him.

I heard him singing to himself as I came up.  I made certain to stay on the other side of the road so as to not startle him.  However, I did startle him a bit.  He looked at me with rather wide eyes and then he did the most precious, trusting thing.

He swung his head around in the other direction to make eye contact with the man whom I had seen standing beside his pickup in the driveway a couple of houses up from the bus stop.  You see, the little boy was scared when he saw this stranger near him all of the sudden, but he immediately checked with his daddy to confirm that all was okay.  I don’t know what Daddy did since I kept on walking and did not watch for his reaction; I do know that the boy only had his eyes back there for just a second and then he turned back to look for the bus.

But it was enough.  It was a security check.  It all happened in just a matter of seconds, but here’s what I’m thinking went through the boy’s mind.  “EEK, stranger…could mean danger.  AHH, Daddy…total protection.” 

That is what my heavenly Father is for me.  TOTAL PROTECTION!  Romans 8:15 tells us this, “So you have not received a spirit that makes you fearful slaves. Instead, you received God’s Spirit when he adopted you as his own children. Now we call him, “Abba, Father.”

I have researched the meaning of that word, “Abba.”  There is much theological discussion on what the “transliteration from Hebrew to Aramaic to Greek” might have meant as the word is orginally an Old Testament one.  Some scholars say that it means, “Daddy.”  Others say that we have taken a 21st-century view of it and made it more familiar with God than it was intended.  BLAH BLAH BLAH

I just know this.  1 John 3:1 says He bestowed such a great love on me that I am HIS CHILD!  Romans 8 says that I no longer have a spirit as that of a fearful slave.  HE ADOPTED ME AS ONE OF HIS OWN.  I may call Him “Daddy.”  That gives me great comfort that when danger approaches, I can immediately cast my eyes to my Daddy and know that He is ever protecting me.

Some of you may have had a difficult relationship with your earthly father.  Please do not frame this discussion within that context.  GOD IS NOT YOUR EARTHLY FATHER!  He is all good, all loving, all caring, and all powerful.  He sent His own Son to die for you so that you may go to heaven and spend eternity with Him.  He only wants good for you.

Have you called Him “Daddy?”  He longs for you to.  He’s watching over you just like the little boy’s daddy was at the bus stop.  However, God is even closer and more powerful.  AND He loves you even more than that daddy loves that little boy.

Loving my Daddy,

~Lynne~

One thought on “Daddy

Leave a Reply

